About us

Board of Directors

The bidt’s board of directors comprises top academics from a range of fields, equipped with broad experience in leading key scientific projects in top research institutes. Our strongly interdisciplinary approach has brought together experts from information science, economics and business administration, law, sociology, media science, philosophy and political science, all having well-established far-reaching national and international contacts, outstanding actors in science and practice.

Executive Committee

Prof. Dr. Alexander Pretschner
Chairman of the board of directors | bidt
Chair of Software & Systems Engineering | Technical University of Munich
Scientific director | fortiss
Prof. Dr. Ute Schmid
Chair of Applied Computer Sciences / Cognitive Systems | University of Bamberg

Other Members of the Directorate

Prof. Dr. Andreas Boes
Member of the Board of Directors | ISF Munich – Institute for Social Science Research
Supernumerary Professor of Sociology | Technical University of Darmstadt
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Felix Freiling
Department of Computer Science | Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuernberg
Prof. Dr. Dirk Heckmann
Chair of Law and Security of Digitization | Technical University of Munich
Prof. Dr. Thomas Hess
Institute for Digital Management and New Media | Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Prof. Dr. Dr. Eric Hilgendorf
Department of Criminal Law, Criminal Justice, Legal Theory, Information and Computer Science Law | Julius-Maximilians-University Wuerzburg
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Julian Nida-Rümelin
Professor emeritus of Philosophy and Political Theory | Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Prof. Dr. Hannah Schmid-Petri
Chair of Science Communication | University of Passau
More about the bidt
learn more
learn more
learn more